Six Ways I Stay Balanced

image

The #BOSUStrongChallenge is in its second week and it is all about balance! Standing on one leg, lunging, and BOSU squatting our way through the week!

But, balance means more than just being able to stand on one leg, it also means being able to do what you love while making healthy choices at the same time.  It means putting in the work and still finding time for some fun!  Or going for the dessert but balancing it out throughout the day with healthy and lower calorie choices.  Or running and working on your core at home when you can’t make it to the gym.

Here are the Six Ways I stay balanced…what are yours?

  1. I make time for myself by waking up a little earlier each day to get my run in and also to get caught up on email that needs my attention sooner than later.
  2. My favorite time of day is the sunrise.  I know so many others aren’t even awake yet and it’s like my own little reward for getting up early.
  3. My rule when it comes to a balanced diet is eating mostly fresh fruit, vegetables, and lean sources of protein.  Balancing it out with a treat here and there.
  4. I make fitness a priority by scheduling it in.  Also, if I’m at the gym and finish training someone, I stay just an extra 10-15 minutes, if I can, and work on abs, foam rolling and/or stretching.
  5. When I get stressed or overwhelmed, my “go to” is a nice run.  If I can make it to a trail that’s the best remedy.  However, I focus more of the moving mediation of the run and less on pace.
  6. I keep calm and try to be a good role model for my family.  Life has its ups and downs, but nothing is permanent and we always find a way to learn from it and get through it.

BONUS:  Here are my favorite 6 moves to help improve your balance:

  1. Stand on one leg to get a sense of your balance.  See if you can do this for 30 seconds.  It helps to exhale strongly and engage the core as you do this.
  2. Progress to lifting the heel so that you are rising up onto the toes.  Rise up and lower down slowly 6 times.  Repeat on the other leg.  Don’t forget to engage the core muscles!
  3. If you can complete both 1 & 2, try them again with your eyes closed.  So much more challenging this way!
  4. If you can stand on one leg easily, try taking the other leg back while tilting forward.  Then try extending the leg a little more and opening up the arms up out the side.  This is called a swan dive.  Return to the starting position and repeat 6X.  Then do this on the other leg.  Start with the strong exhale to remind yourself to engage your core!
  5. Once you can balance on the floor, try adding a balance device beneath the foot.  A BOSU is and excellent choice for this.  Place it near a wall, step onto the center of it with one foot, and see if you can stand on it and balance.  Use the wall next to you if necessary, but don’t hesitate in just stepping back onto the floor if you start to lose your balance.  See if you can stay up there on one foot for about 30 seconds, then repeat on the other leg.  Don’t forget to engage the core muscles!
  6. You can also kneeling on the BOSU for balance if you feel unsure about standing on top of it.  Place both knees on it, breathe and engage your core, and then slowly lift the feet away from the floor.  Work up to 30 seconds.

Let’s all be #BOSUStrong together this week!

Sweat-Pink-ambassador-badge-SMALL

