The Importance of Protein & Recovery: Vega Review

IMG_3022

I’m always in search of ways to improve my fitness.  It’s one thing to go out and train hard, but it is important to remember that one gains fitness and strength during the recovery phase and recent studies show that protein is helpful in this process.  I feel privileged to now be a VIP for VEGA, a 100% plant based company that is geared for athletes.  I am not a vegetarian or vegan, but I can appreciate the fact that this company is 100% plant based!!

I received in the mail a box of chocolate peanut butter Vega Sport Protein Bars and a box of vanilla Vega Sport Recovery Protein powder packets, both geared for recovery.  I’m always on the go, so I first tried a bar after a 12 mile run.  I needed something quick to eat since I had to train a client, so the bar was perfect!  It’s my favorite flavor combo and tasted great!  It is covered in a chocolate coating, so definitely not something I want to leave in my car or in my gym bag during the hot summer months!  I’m a little picky when it comes to bars…texture is important and I don’t care for bars that have a lingering aftertaste…that isn’t too tasty.  This bar had good flavor with a little crunch to it, which was a surprise.  It was satisfying and held me off until lunchtime.  I strive to get enough protein in my diet so I was happy to see that it has 15 grams of protein!! This would be especially important for someone who does not get protein from meat sources.

IMG_3074 IMG_3095

In the last couple of weeks, the temperatures have really heated up here in Southern Arizona!!  Last weekend, I went for a 15 mile trail run, then I went to teach a cycling class, and THEN a body conditioning class!! What a morning!! I came home hot and hungry!!  I decided to try the vanilla Vega Sport Recovery Protein.  A quick smoothie sounded so refreshing!!  I started off with a cup of milk and the powder in the blender.  I then added fresh strawberries and a banana and mixed it up.  I added a cup of crushed ice and blended it some more!!  It was delicious and really hit the spot!! I tend to buy chocolate protein powders, so this was a nice change of pace to have vanilla.  It was pleasantly sweet and the flavor wasn’t too strong so it blended perfectly with the fruit.

Since I’m training for a marathon in a couple of weeks, these products couldn’t have come at a better time!!  Today was my last long training run and I’m so grateful that I threw a recovery bar in my gym bag at the last minute!!  I started the morning off with a 14.5 mile hilly run, taught my cycling class right after, and then was planning to tackle another 5-6 mile run after that!!  I’ve been a little under the weather, so the first run didn’t feel easy and I felt over-heated during spin class but was still able to give them a great workout.  Now time for another run…and it’s 90 degrees outside!!  I decided to sit down and eat the Vega Sport Protein Bar and replenish some fluids before heading out.  I ran quite slow as I hit the trail, but then, by mile two I was feeling great!!  It was still hot out and it wasn’t a fast run, but the rest of the miles flew by!!  I was so glad I didn’t wait until after this run to eat that bar!!  What a difference!

 

My second run in the hot sun!!

                                                          IMG_3152 

 

4 thoughts on “The Importance of Protein & Recovery: Vega Review

  1. I must also add that after my hard workout Sunday, when I wrote this…I am not sore!! That’s a good sign of how my body recovered and that I’m getting stronger and fitter!! Yay!

  2. Hi Laura. For protein bars, is there a minimum amount of protein one should look for? BTW, you’re a beast! Thats quite a bit of running you do 🙂

    1. Hi Brian! I am not a nutritionist or RD, but do spend a lot of time reading about and informing myself on the subject. It depends on what you’re looking for in a bar (meal replacement vs. snack) and also how much protein you actually need in a day. Unlike carbs, we don’t store excess protein so you don’t need to go overboard. An easy guideline I have people use to figure out how much protein one needs daily is to divide your body weight in pounds by 3. If you’re super active, you’ll probably want to add a bit more. Also, you don’t really need more than 30 grams at a time/meal. Studies show that after so many grams, the body can only absorb so much. So even if you are a body builder, you won’t benefit by taking in 90 grams. The benefit just isn’t significant and the positive impact of protein drops off after about 30 grams. Most bars have an average of 8-12, unless they are protein specific. Also, as much as I love Power Bars and Clif bars, I avoid Soy Protein Isolate (SPI) as much as possible. It is highly processed and very cheap to use. I personally prefer Whey or Pea Protein. Hope that helps!! Thank you!

Comments are closed.